Jeff Scott Soto Forum

Unofficial
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
REGISTER TO THE JSS STREET TEAM: jss_street_team@jeffscottsoto.com

Share | 
 

 TSO Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
IStumbleN
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 57
Age : 36
Location : St. Louis, MO
Registration date : 2007-10-28

PostSubject: TSO Review   Fri Nov 14, 2008 1:16 pm

Hi everyone,

For those of you who are going to your first TSO show (like me) here is a review that I ran across about the show in Utah. Small JSS mention but it sounds really exciting. I'm anxious to see what part he plays.

Trans-Siberian Orchestra opens holiday season with joyful show
By Scott Iwasaki
Deseret News
Published: Friday, Nov. 14, 2008 9:35 a.m. MST

TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA, E Center, Thursday

WEST VALLEY CITY The yuletide season officially began Thursday when the Trans-Siberian Orchestra brought its annual winter concert to the E Center.
As it has in the past, the band featuring core members Al Pitrelli (who played sitting down because of a shattered knee) and Angus Clark on guitar, Jane Mangini and Derek Wieland on piano and keys, drummer John O. Reilly and bassist Chris Altenhoff (who made his Utah debut this year) cranked out the songs and story from its debut CD "Christmas Eve & Other Stories."
Narrated by silky-voiced Tony Gaynor, the band highlighted the story of an angel trying to help a runaway girl find her way home.
Sweeping arrangements of Christmas carols, done in progressive-rock glory, had various vocalists, including Tommy Farese, Kristin Gorman, Erin Henry, Christie George, Jeff Scott Soto, Bart Shatto and Andrew Ross giving voices to different characters and situations.
Also making their Utah debut were string master Mark Wood and violinist Alison Zlotow, who led local musicians called the Salt Lake Strings throughout the night. And the strings were heard more clearly this year than they have been in the past.
"An Angel Came Down," the instrumental medley of "O Come All Ye Faithful" and "O Holy Night" were well mixed and powerful. But all was not fun and games. When Gaynor retold the segment where the angel finds hope during the war in Sarajevo, there were more than a few wet eyes in the audience.
By the time the "Old City Bar" segment, which featured Shatto's heart-tugging vocals, the audience was actually silent for a spell, taking in the mesmerizing performance.
It was the second act where the band really let loose. Rock-opera takes on Carl Orff's "Carmina Burana," Rimsky-Korsakov's "Flight of the Bumble Bee" and Beethoven's Ninth and Fifth symphonies got the TSO touch.
Gorman got the audience members on their feet with her vocal gymnastics during "Queen of the Winter Night." She surprised the audience by appearing on a satellite stage toward the back of the arena.
There was a microphone glitch during the band's trademark "Christmas Canon Rock," but the audience didn't seem to notice too much.
At one point, Clark and Zlotow ventured out into the audience and climbed aboard the aforementioned satellite stage and, in a burst of fog, rose to the height of the E Center's upper bowl.
Still, the performance, which featured loads of flash pots, fireworks, laser lights and mobile stages, was worth the price of the ticket.
Speaking of money, prior to the performance and continuing the band's tradition of donating a dollar for every ticket sold TSO announced a donation of $9,563 to the Utah Food Bank.
The donation set the joyful spirit for the rest of the evening.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jackblades.org
srob1022
newbie


Number of posts : 23
Registration date : 2008-09-11

PostSubject: TSO/JSS   Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:27 pm

Thanks for posting the review, Sharon!
I was lucky enough to be on travel for work to Seattle coinciding with the TSO show there...and it was AWESOME! Very Happy
Jeff's solo gave me chills! The rest of the ensemble is pretty darned good as well, lol!

Anyone who is going - take a bottle of water in with you - you'll be glad you did. After the later shows, they do a meet 'n' greet unless the venue doesn't allow it.

At most of the shows, security has been pretty adamant about photos and shooting video. I got NO pictures at all, as security was standing right next to my row...but I had really great seats, so I can't complain. Just wish I could've shared it with all of you! Crying or Very sad

Suzanne
Back to top Go down
View user profile
IStumbleN
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 57
Age : 36
Location : St. Louis, MO
Registration date : 2007-10-28

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:28 pm

srob1022 wrote:
Thanks for posting the review, Sharon!
I was lucky enough to be on travel for work to Seattle coinciding with the TSO show there...and it was AWESOME! Very Happy
Jeff's solo gave me chills! The rest of the ensemble is pretty darned good as well, lol!

Anyone who is going - take a bottle of water in with you - you'll be glad you did. After the later shows, they do a meet 'n' greet unless the venue doesn't allow it.

At most of the shows, security has been pretty adamant about photos and shooting video. I got NO pictures at all, as security was standing right next to my row...but I had really great seats, so I can't complain. Just wish I could've shared it with all of you! Crying or Very sad

Suzanne

Actually you did share the show.

Thank you.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jackblades.org
Nath
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 758
Age : 47
Location : Paris, France
Registration date : 2007-01-02

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sun Nov 23, 2008 4:06 am

Thanks for the reviews! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://jeffscottsoto.niceboard.com
fourt9rkim
Rising Force
avatar

Number of posts : 299
Age : 58
Location : Fresno, California
Registration date : 2007-01-25

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:55 am

My TSO show was on Wed., 11/19....and OMG! What a show.... I'd never been to a TSO show before and they were FANTASTIC! And of course, the added kicker was having JSS at our show! He owned that stage! We had third row seats, and I received a couple of smiles and acknowledgements from Jeff! sunny Got to talk to him for a minute after the show at the M&G....what a complete sweetheart!

Here's my photos from the show, and a couple of short clips of Jeff's solos:

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v110/fourt9rkim/Trans%20Siberian%20Orchestra%20concert%2011-19-2008/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S83gi3GD6bA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-SuT4tjmbM
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/fourt9rkim
Nath
Admin
avatar

Number of posts : 758
Age : 47
Location : Paris, France
Registration date : 2007-01-02

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:06 am

Thanks for the really great pics and the vids Kim!! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://jeffscottsoto.niceboard.com
fourt9rkim
Rising Force
avatar

Number of posts : 299
Age : 58
Location : Fresno, California
Registration date : 2007-01-25

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:16 am

My pleasure, Nath! I know how hard it is to get pics or videos during this tour, so I feel very lucky to have gotten these!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/fourt9rkim
IStumbleN
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 57
Age : 36
Location : St. Louis, MO
Registration date : 2007-10-28

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:18 am

Everyone has given such great reviews. My show was yesterday. It was my first time seeing TSO and next year, I think I'll take my niece and nephew and get balcony seats. They were that good. I won't rehash the show since my experience was pretty much the same as everyone elses. To show JSS specific support, I did wear my JSS pendant but the chain I had it one kept making it flip so after fussing with it for a while and trying to keep it turned forward, I finally gave up. I have to get another chain.

I did stay for the meet and greet which was amazing. I've not seen JSS as much as the rest of you and had never spoken to him personally so I had no idea what I would say to him so I took a few moments to think about it. When I finally got to to the point where he was in line I just said said Jeff, I love Beautiful Mess. He seemed shocked that I mentioned it and then said Whoa, I have to give you a hug for that then leaned over the table and gave me this big hug. He then saw my pendant, turned backwards still, and said I should have known and reached over and turned it the right way. I then probably said the worse thing that could say among a group of TSO fans and bandmembers (I wasn't thinking correctly at the time) but I said in earshot of all the TSO people, I only came for you! Yes I know, good move, Sharon, lol. Jeff, however, saved the day for me by saying I hope you enjoyed the rest of the show so I was able to hopefully redeem myself by saying how great the show was and that next year I plan on bringing my niece and nephew.

When I got to the last guy at the table, he looked at me and my pendant and said Jeff Scott Soto, huh. I said yep I love him. He laughed and I told him I also loved the show and he thanked me.

Anyway it was a great ending to a long day (I saw both 3 and 8 p.m. shows) but it was so well worth it.

Thanks, everyone, for letting me gush a bit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jackblades.org
fourt9rkim
Rising Force
avatar

Number of posts : 299
Age : 58
Location : Fresno, California
Registration date : 2007-01-25

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:58 pm

That's awesome that you got to talk to Jeff! I felt almost exactly the same way....I went specifically for Jeff, even though I did enjoy the whole show. At the meet and greet, Al Pitrelli commented on my denim vest, which was cool, but I was just wanting to get down to the middle where Jeff was....LOL!

I should have said something about Beautiful Mess, but my mind was in a blur at the moment!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/fourt9rkim
IStumbleN
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 57
Age : 36
Location : St. Louis, MO
Registration date : 2007-10-28

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:51 pm

fourt9rkim wrote:
That's awesome that you got to talk to Jeff! I felt almost exactly the same way....I went specifically for Jeff, even though I did enjoy the whole show. At the meet and greet, Al Pitrelli commented on my denim vest, which was cool, but I was just wanting to get down to the middle where Jeff was....LOL!

I should have said something about Beautiful Mess, but my mind was in a blur at the moment!

Yay I kinda wanted to say something that would hopefully be a little meaningful to him individually since he was my main reason for going and that was all I could come up with at that moment. I'm just surprised I was able to open mouth and say something even slightly intelligible, lol

Besides, I'm sure he would love to know what we all think of it and I do love the music on it so why not tell him that.

BTW, I love your pictures from the show. You got some amazing shots!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jackblades.org
fourt9rkim
Rising Force
avatar

Number of posts : 299
Age : 58
Location : Fresno, California
Registration date : 2007-01-25

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:22 pm

IStumbleN wrote:
fourt9rkim wrote:
That's awesome that you got to talk to Jeff! I felt almost exactly the same way....I went specifically for Jeff, even though I did enjoy the whole show. At the meet and greet, Al Pitrelli commented on my denim vest, which was cool, but I was just wanting to get down to the middle where Jeff was....LOL!

I should have said something about Beautiful Mess, but my mind was in a blur at the moment!

Yay I kinda wanted to say something that would hopefully be a little meaningful to him individually since he was my main reason for going and that was all I could come up with at that moment. I'm just surprised I was able to open mouth and say something even slightly intelligible, lol

Besides, I'm sure he would love to know what we all think of it and I do love the music on it so why not tell him that.

BTW, I love your pictures from the show. You got some amazing shots!

Thank you ! I had to take those on the sly....got caught once, but the girl sitting next to me kept snapping, so I did too!

At that moment, I think my brain was blank...I was just so happy to talk to him.... lol!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/fourt9rkim
uncle heFTy
Tour Manager


Number of posts : 74
Age : 69
Location : Cheshire, England
Registration date : 2007-06-12

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:56 am

The funny thing is that Jeff loves to talk to fans - not just about him, but shows as a whole. I've been with him (man and old man) for 7+ years and only once have I seen him irritated - but he will know who the irritant was.

So, never be afraid to talk to him - but if a slightly balding fat bloke tries to move you on, give him a big hug (its me damn it!) I'm only trying to share him round.

If anyone catches JSS in the Camina Burana slot I'd love to see it and hear it.

Uncle H
Back to top Go down
View user profile
IStumbleN
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 57
Age : 36
Location : St. Louis, MO
Registration date : 2007-10-28

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:28 pm

uncle heFTy wrote:
The funny thing is that Jeff loves to talk to fans - not just about him, but shows as a whole. I've been with him (man and old man) for 7+ years and only once have I seen him irritated - but he will know who the irritant was.

So, never be afraid to talk to him - but if a slightly balding fat bloke tries to move you on, give him a big hug (its me damn it!) I'm only trying to share him round.

If anyone catches JSS in the Camina Burana slot I'd love to see it and hear it.

Uncle H

He was definately very approachable, friendly and easy to talk too, and very equal to everyone there.

He was just as talkative to people talking about TSO as he was to me when I told him I loved his CD. He made it a pleasure to be a supporter and he made it easy to be proud of his performance. He's a good guy. I like him.

I promise I'm done gushing. I know how nauseating and boring it can be, Sleep lol

I appreciate you guys giving me my moment. Your the best!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.jackblades.org
lep4life
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 118
Age : 42
Location : Chicago area
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:18 am

uncle heFTy wrote:


If anyone catches JSS in the Camina Burana slot I'd love to see it and hear it.

Uncle H

That was definitely one of the show's highlights! I'd love to relive it too!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/lep4life
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: TSO Review   

Back to top Go down
 
TSO Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New REINXEED review at Angelic Warlord
» Mehida - "Blood & Water" review
» GOLDEN RESURRECTION review at Angelic Warlord
» THE SEVENTH POWER review at Angelic Warlord
» KISS - Sonic Boom UK tour has started!!! a brief review...

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Jeff Scott Soto Forum :: JEFF SCOTT SOTO :: Live-
Jump to: