Jeff Scott Soto Forum

Unofficial
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
REGISTER TO THE JSS STREET TEAM: jss_street_team@jeffscottsoto.com

Share | 
 

 W.E.T. review!!!!!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 49
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:57 am

From a certain Personne! lol! Pardon my French!! Laughing

http://rockmeeting.com/index.php/aor/cd-reviews/693-wet-wet
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
saby
newbie
avatar

Number of posts : 18
Age : 45
Location : Budapest, Hungary
Registration date : 2007-06-15

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:40 am

Another W.E.T. review from www.rockunited.com

This is english. Very Happy


W.E.T.: "W.E.T." 9
Frontiers 2009
Review by Kimmo Toivonen,
14 October 2009

Work Of Art, Eclipse and Talisman is apparently a W.E.T. combination. Yeah, can't say I'm too impressed by the band's name, but Robert Säll (WOA), Erik Martensson (Eclipse) and Jeff Scott Soto (Talisman) have put together a superb album which more than makes up for it!

The band isn't trying to reinvent the wheel with these songs, but somehow they've managed to create fresh-sounding music from familiar ingredients. What you'll get for your money is elements of the three bands mentioned, the sound of Eclipse's last album being the closest comparison. W.E.T. are more AOR-friendly though, and the fans that Jeff made during his stay in Journey will find a lot to enjoy.

The best tracks of the album are simply immaculate examples of melodic rock. The first video/single (?) "One Love" could very well be the best track I've heard this year. The killer opener "Invincible", the AOR gems "Running From The Heartache", "I'll Be There" and "My Everything" and the mega-ballad "One Day At The Time" aren't far behind. The couple of more straight-forward hard rock tracks ("Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is" and "Just Go") are the ones with the least impact, but I guess they do add some edge to the album.

When this project was announced, Jeff Scott Soto said something to the effect of them beating Journey at their own game, and I wondered whether this album would turn out to be a wannabe-Journey one. Thankfully the Journey-cloning is limited to one song, the closing track "If I Fall". I really can't take it seriously, because the Twin Peaks-like intro aside, it's a Journey tribute. Soto stacks up all of his Perry-isms to his vocal performance, and the song itself is built out of pieces of "Be Good To Yourself", "After The Fall" and a few other Journey classics. A good song for sure, but how could it not be, if its' main "components" are AOR classics?

I truly hope that W.E.T. will sell well, because this album deserves a follow-up. Wouldn't mind an extensive european tour for the guys either, with a gig or two in Finland. Maybe the W and the E could be the support acts?
www.myspace.com/wetrocks
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 49
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Sun Oct 18, 2009 6:34 am

Thank you Saby! Very Happy

He is nearly ok with me, but PYMWYMI and Just Go are for me killer tracks!!!!!!!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
saby
newbie
avatar

Number of posts : 18
Age : 45
Location : Budapest, Hungary
Registration date : 2007-06-15

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:37 am

Personne

You are right. In this thing I don't agree with our finnish friend. For me the whole album is pretty awesome from the first minute.
By the way I am rather biased... Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 49
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:25 am

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
saby
newbie
avatar

Number of posts : 18
Age : 45
Location : Budapest, Hungary
Registration date : 2007-06-15

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:57 am

What can I say after these all?

AOR album of the year!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 49
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:53 am

Review is 9 out of 10 on the latest French version of Rock Hard!

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
saby
newbie
avatar

Number of posts : 18
Age : 45
Location : Budapest, Hungary
Registration date : 2007-06-15

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:41 am

We don't want to be behind... Very Happy

10/10 - W.E.T. review on Metal Hammer Hungary!

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 49
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:13 am

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: W.E.T. review!!!!!   

Back to top Go down
 
W.E.T. review!!!!!
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» New REINXEED review at Angelic Warlord
» Mehida - "Blood & Water" review
» GOLDEN RESURRECTION review at Angelic Warlord
» THE SEVENTH POWER review at Angelic Warlord
» KISS - Sonic Boom UK tour has started!!! a brief review...

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Jeff Scott Soto Forum :: JEFF SCOTT SOTO :: General-
Jump to: