Jeff Scott Soto Forum

Unofficial
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  
REGISTER TO THE JSS STREET TEAM: jss_street_team@jeffscottsoto.com

Share | 
 

 PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:53 pm

This review was posted on Nov. 20, 2006 by Chris Akin.
Good to see a critic become a JSS fan after hearing his solo work! :]

Here's the link if you want to see the actual page:
http://www.pitriff.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Reviews&file=index&req=showcontent&id=706

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jeff Scott Soto - ESSENTIAL BALLADS (Locomotive)


Jeff Scott Soto
ESSENTIAL BALLADS
Locomotive Music

Having never been much of an Yngwie J. Malmsteen fan, Jeff Scott Soto has long been a name that I had heard but never actually bothered to discover. It wasn't until he emerged with Soul Sirkus that I really took notice to this guy. His work there was brilliant, and quickly converted me into a fan. From there, his LOST IN TRANSLATION solo release hit my desk, and almost 2 years later it's still constantly getting played at home, at work and on the Ipod. In fact, last summer I made a point to go see Soto play with Journey based solely on the strength of LOST IN TRANSLATION. I've even gone back and revisited those old Yngwie albums just to have the bulk of this guy's music. Simply put, Jeff Scott Soto is one of the very best vocalists out there.

That being said, I can easily envision Soto taking ESSENTIAL BALLADS, handing it to Neal Schon, and saying, “here's my tryout for Journey.” While he probably didn't go that route, there's no denying the pure passion and soul Soto pours into the ballads contained on ESSENTIAL BALLADS. Whether he's performing cover tunes or his own original work, Soto proves time and time again a natural charisma and passionate approach that reminds of a lot of bands while still having their own unique identity.

It's interesting that Soto was basically a session guy for much of his career. This is a guy that deserves greatness. His range is far wider than your average vocalist. Songs like “Lonely Shade Of Blue”, for instance, could easily be mistaken for a Jimi Jamison-led Survivor tune, while other songs such as “Holding On” have a bit more depth in the vocals. In fact, if I didn't know better, I'm mistake “Holding On” for a rocked up Asia song. Throughout ESSENTIAL BALLADS, there's no denying the overwhelming pop-rock diversity of Soto. When he does decide to cover a song or two, he shines equally bright. The cover of Journey's “Send Her My Love” does not attempt to clone Steve Perry's one of a kind vocals (or 2 of a kind if you consider Augeri's replica of Perry). Instead, it is done in Soto's own moving, powerful way. The best song on the CD though, “If This Is The End”, is sung with a rare passion and truth that most balladeers attempt but rarely achieve. This song, which feels very much like a Journey number, should be huge on soft-rock radio stations all over the country. It's easily the best ballad to be released all year by anyone.

PITRIFF RATING – 8/10 - Jeff Scott Soto is an amazing vocalist who will do very well with Journey. It's about time that he found an outfit for his incredible talent who's music clearly plays into Soto's forte. ESSENTIAL BALLADS is a bit long at 16 tracks, but for the very most part it's completely worthy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
Personne
Westerner
avatar

Number of posts : 1455
Age : 48
Location : Lone Pine, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-04

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:18 am

Like it's said, some may know JSS by Malmsteen and later by Soul Sirkus!!
It's a shame that Talisman with more than 7 albums, including live ones, never have the audience they deserve! Neutral

World's best kept secret! Sad but true! silent
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://western.movies.free.fr/
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:47 am

Yepp. Definitely.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:08 pm

I have to disagree, Jeff is not ONE of the best vocalists out there he IS THE BEST VOCALIST out there! lol Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:11 pm

*~Sherrie~* wrote:
I have to disagree, Jeff is not ONE of the best vocalists out there he IS THE BEST VOCALIST out there! lol Very Happy

So true. So true
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:16 pm

He's THE man Very Happy

Wow, wow! I keep looking at your picture collage in all of your posts, very nice Wink Did I say Wow? Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:20 pm

Haha.
Why thank you!
If you give me some of your favorite pictures of him, I can make you one too if ya want ;D
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:26 pm

*Gasp* I might have to take you up on that offer Very Happy In return, if you would like one of the tags like my avatar, I made it and can make you one, if you wanted one.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:32 pm

Trades are ALWAYS fun Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:48 pm

Yes, they are. Do you like the border and name colors like they are or do you have another preference?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:50 pm

Ummm you can just surprise me with another color :]
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:53 pm

LOL Ok, I'll do that. I used purple b/c that's my favorite Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Fri Jan 26, 2007 12:18 pm

Very Happy
Alriiighty
THANK YOUUUU
And feel free to send me your fav picturesss!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Fri Jan 26, 2007 6:55 pm

Your JSS tag is finished, where would you like me to send it? MySpace? Here? What? LOL
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:03 pm

Ummmmmmm either one is fine. Very Happy
AHHH! I'm SO EXCITED!! cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Sat Jan 27, 2007 1:49 pm

I have 2 sizes for you. Very Happy






Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:03 pm

OH

MY

GOD.


Ummm how did you know that blue was my FAVORITE COLOR?!?!?!??!?!?!

Shocked Very Happy bounce
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:38 am

I know everything! lol!

Glad I picked a color you liked Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
victoria
Talisman
avatar

Number of posts : 425
Location : Los Angeles, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-05

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:21 pm

AHHHHHH!
I loooooooooove it!
Not as much as I love you of course Razz
Very Happy
Thanks sooo much Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/hidingbehindmysmile
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:46 am

You're welcome, could I deny a JSS sister anything? Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
i2takpics
newbie
avatar

Number of posts : 9
Age : 53
Location : Central Valley, CA
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Feb 01, 2007 1:45 am

I feel like Jeff has been hiding in plain site all this time and I never noticed him til recently. But I'm very glad I've noticed now. Cool Cool
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/i2takpics
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:25 am

Join the club, I only discovered him last year and have wondered where he's been hiding all of this time.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
nhrockergirl
Fan
avatar

Number of posts : 58
Age : 34
Location : New Hampshire
Registration date : 2007-01-08

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:22 am

victoria wrote:


The best song on the CD though, “If This Is The End”, is sung with a rare passion and truth that most balladeers attempt but rarely achieve. This song, which feels very much like a Journey number, should be huge on soft-rock radio stations all over the country. It's easily the best ballad to be released all year by anyone.


Nice review! I'm listening to 'If This Is The End' as I type this and I have to agree! Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nhmelissa
*~Sherrie~*
Superfan
avatar

Number of posts : 706
Age : 41
Location : JSSville, Indiana
Registration date : 2007-01-06

PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:24 am

nhrockergirl wrote:
victoria wrote:


The best song on the CD though, “If This Is The End”, is sung with a rare passion and truth that most balladeers attempt but rarely achieve. This song, which feels very much like a Journey number, should be huge on soft-rock radio stations all over the country. It's easily the best ballad to be released all year by anyone.


Nice review! I'm listening to 'If This Is The End' as I type this and I have to agree! Very Happy Very Happy

You make me so proud! lol!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/nascargirl76
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads   

Back to top Go down
 
PiTRiFF Online reviews JSS's Essential Ballads
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Rocks Back Pages (Stooge Reviews)
» Billy Cobham online drum school !!!!!!!!
» How to do Table Tennis Table Booking online ?
» Watch online: Iggy rocks the (stately) house
» Whitecross ballads

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Jeff Scott Soto Forum :: JEFF SCOTT SOTO :: General-
Jump to: